Shameless Plug


standrewsuniversity_logoHmmm. The footage I wanted to talk about this week has disappeared from the net. I don’t have a back-up post written…

I’ll write one for next week instead. In the meantime, an utterly shameless plug.

I got a great comment on a recent piece, which finished like this:

Thank you for all the effort put in.

Well, that’s pretty nice. I do put a lot of thought into it. But why? Is it really just because I have such a massive ego and want everyone to see how clever I (think I) am? Or is it because I’m wildly insecure and need the constant feedback? Or is it because I love coaching and just can’t help it?

Probably a little of all three, to be honest.

But here’s the thing – when I started thinking about this blog a year or so ago it was mainly with the idea of advertising myself and my role at the University here in St Andrews in the hope of spreading the news that we take Ultimate seriously.

318715_998132178322_1523728362_nOf course, I don’t expect people to choose their University based on the Ultimate team. And even if you did, you’d be going to Pitt or Carleton or some such institution, or maybe Sussex in the UK. There’s no denying it – we don’t have a world-class team here; we’re not even the strongest in Scotland, either historically or at the moment. But we want to be, and that’s exciting.

I share my office here at the sports centre with the Directors of Football, Rugby and Tennis. You don’t get more mainstream than that, and there aren’t many institutions where you could imagine the Ultimate club having that kind of status. We’re not there yet, on the pitch, but we will be.

It’s not easy to get into St Andrews, but if you have the grades it’s an amazing place. You won’t choose to come here just because you have a vague idea who the Ultimate coach is – but perhaps, in some small way, a few more frisbee people will consider what St Andrews has to offer.

And hopefully, when they go off and research the academic standards and the student satisfaction ratings and the history they’ll see something they like. If you, or someone you know, is looking for a friendly, seaside, academically-renowned 600-year-old university, for undergrad or postgrad, drop me a line on bgh@st-andrews.ac.uk and I’ll happily tell you anything you want to know.

This entry was posted in General comment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion...

